The RNA Society Award for Excellence in Inclusive Leadership

The RNA Society Award for Excellence in Inclusive Leadership was established in 2021 to recognize outstanding leadership that promotes the training and/or professional development of underrepresented scientists and greater inclusion of RNA researchers within our scientific community. This award is open to all current members of the RNA Society (student, post-doctoral fellow and full members) having a demonstrated record of promoting diversity and inclusion in RNA science. Activities can include, but are not limited to, achievements in research mentorship of underrepresented scientists, development of programs or initiatives that promote inclusion in the RNA scientific community, and/or long-standing advocacy and/or commitment to scientific inclusion and opportunities for all.

Applicants must be a current member of the RNA Society (click here to become a member).

Applications for The RNA Society Award for Excellence in Inclusive Leadership must include the following material:

  • Applicant’s current CV.
  • A 1-page Summary describing applicant’s leadership activities and accomplishments promoting diversity and inclusion in RNA science. 
  • A Letter of Support from a current or past mentee or colleague describing the scope and impact of the applicants’ efforts in promoting diversity and inclusion in RNA science. Letters of Support must be submitted electronically via the link provided on the online application site by the application deadline. Letters must include the applicant’s last name and award type in the file name.

Click Here to Apply Online 

Judging Procedures:
Applications will be evaluated by the RNA Society Awards Committee and judged based on the applicant’s overall contribution to promoting diversity and inclusion in RNA science. The RNA Society is committed to advancing diversity, equality and inclusion and will not evaluate applications based on age, race, gender, religion, disability, sexuality or socio-economic status. One applicant will be selected to receive this award per year.

The winner each year will be awarded a prize with an estimated value of $5,000 that includes complementary registration to the RNA Society Annual Meeting and reimbursement for travel and accommodations to attend this meeting. Winners will also receive a cash prize of $500, an engraved commemorative plaque, and a complementary RNA Society membership for the year of their award (which includes a personal subscription to RNA). Winners will be announced and recognized on the RNA Society website, through social media channels, and during the RNA Society Annual Meeting.

Completed applications (including Letters of Support) must be received by September 30, 2023, in order to be considered (please note that it is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure Letters of Support are submitted by the deadline date). Incomplete or late applications will not be evaluated.

Previous Winners:
Anita Corbett (2022), Wendy Gilbert (2023), Shobha Vasudevan (2024)