The RNA Society Outstanding Career Researcher Award

The RNA Society Outstanding Career Researcher Award was established in 2021 to recognize the exceptional contributions of career research scientists in advancing the field of RNA. The award is open to all career researchers who performs his/her/their scientific role in the framework of a larger research group. Examples of career RNA researchers eligible for this award include Research Assistants, Research Associates, Technicians, Lab Managers, Staff Scientists, or those in equivalent positions. Graduate students, post-doctoral fellows and Principal Investigators/Independent Group Leaders are not eligible to apply for this award.

Applicants must be a current member of the RNA Society (click here to become a member; please note that career researchers are eligible to apply for membership under the Student or Post-doctoral Fellow categories).

Applications for the RNA Society Outstanding Career Researcher Award must include the following material:

  • Applicant’s current CV
  • A Letter of Application written by the applicant summarizing the research role/position and significant RNA research accomplishments (maximum 1 page)
  • A Letter of Support from the direct supervisor (i.e., lab head, PI, Director) summarizing the applicant’s cumulative contributions to the research group and in advancing RNA research. Letters of Support must be submitted electronically to the link provided on the online application site by the application deadline. Letters must include the applicant’s last name and award type in the file name.

Click here to apply online 

Judging Procedures:
Applications will be evaluated by the RNA Society Awards Committee and judged on the applicant’s cumulative contribution to advancing RNA research and discovery. The RNA Society is committed to advancing diversity, equality and inclusion and will not evaluate applications based on age, race, gender, religion, disability, sexuality or socio-economic status. One applicant will be selected to receive this award category per year. 

The winner each year will be awarded a prize with an estimated value of $5,000 that includes complementary registration to the RNA Society Annual Meeting and reimbursement for travel and accommodations to attend this meeting. Winners will also receive a cash prize of $500, an engraved commemorative plaque, and a complementary RNA Society membership in the year proceeding of their award. Winners will be acknowledged via the RNA Society website, on-social media and during the Annual Meeting. 

Completed applications (including the Letter of Support) must be received by September 30, 2023 in order to be considered (please note that it is the responsibility of the applicant to ensure the Letter of Support is submitted by the deadline date). Late applications will not be evaluated.

Further information:
Email [email protected] for any questions about this award

Previous Winners:
Arthur Zaug (2022), Sara Olson (2023), Jason Stagno (2024)