The RNA Society/Scaringe Young Scientist Award

The RNA Society/Scaringe Young Scientist Award was established to recognize the achievement of young scientists engaged in RNA research and to encourage them to pursue a career in the field of RNA. The award is open to all junior scientists (graduate students or postdoctoral fellows) from all regions of the world who have made a significant contribution to the broad area of RNA. The award is not restricted to authors who have published in the RNA Journal, although it is restricted to active RNA Society members (click here to join).  The prize will recognize one outstanding graduate student and one postdoctoral fellow based on their research accomplishments to date, a 7000-character (~1500 word) essay describing their scientific contributions to RNA research, and a 2500-character (~500 word) abstract for a review in their field of RNA research.

Click Here to Apply Online

Judging Procedures:
All applications are evaluated by the RNA Society Awards Committee. The applicants will be divided into one of two groups: graduate students or postdoctoral fellows. Applications will be judged on the quality of the research and the entrant's ability to articulate his or her research contributions to the field of RNA. This committee will choose one graduate student and one postdoctoral fellow winner prior to the abstract deadline for the annual meeting.

The winners’ names will appear in the abstract book and their expenses associated with attending the meeting will be reimbursed. The winners will receive a cash prize and a one-year membership to the RNA Society that includes a subscription to the journal RNA. By accepting the prize, the winner agrees to write a mini-review or review for RNA. The review can be written solely by the winner or in collaboration with their advisor.

Only completed applications submitted by September 30, 2023 will be considered.

Further information 
Email [email protected] for any questions about this award

Previous Winners:

Graduate Student:
Jeff Barrick (2006), Malte Beringer (2007), Qi Zhang (2008), Jeremey Wilusz (2009), John Calarco (2010), Jasmine Perez (2011), Chenguang Gong (2012), Tatjana Trcek Puliic (2012), Wenwen Fang (2013), David Weinberg (2014), Samuel Sternberg (2015), Katherine Warner (2015), Ryan Flynn (2016), Nian Liu (2016), Malik Chaker-Margot (2017), Madeline Sherlock (2018), Boxuan Zhao (2018), Michael Chen (2019), Max Wilkinson (2019), Robert Battaglia (2020), Junuka Athukoralage (2021), Jonathan Bohlen (2021), and Sanna Klompe (2022), Jonas Tholen (2023), Jennifer Porat (2024)

Postdoctoral Fellow:
Megan Talkington (2006), Zefeng Wang (2007), Alexei Aravin (2008), Shobha Vasudevan (2009), Luciano Marraffini (2010), Hani Zaher (2011), Kotaro Nakanishi (2012),Dipali Sashital (2012), Je-Hyun Yoon (2013), Jinwei Zhang (2014), Olga Anczukow-Camarda (2015), Schraga Schwartz (2015), Basil Greber (2016), Thi Hoang Duong Nguyen (2016), Zhipeng Lu (2017), Fuguo Jiang (2018), Xuebing Wu (2019), Furqan Fazal (2020), Sebastian Fica (2020), Anna Loveland (2021), Kathrin Leppek (2021), Margaret Rodgers (2022), Charles Bou-Nader (2023), Arnaud Vanden Broeck (2024)